

## World Water Council

## **Press release**

Marseilles, November 12, 2003 – The members of the World Water Council, who met at its 3<sup>rd</sup> Ordinary general assembly, elected their new Governors.

Composed of up to 38 member organizations, representing the various regions of the world and the different sectors related to water, the mission of the Board of Governors is to establish strategies and priorities, and decide on action plans for the World Water Council. It meets every six months. Its members are as follows:

- . Mahmoud ABU-ZEID, Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation, Egypt
- . Ingvar ANDERSSON United Nations Development Program, Sustainable Energy and Environment Division
- . Ger BERGKAMP, World Conservation Union (IUCN)
- . Maarten BLOKLAND, UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education (UNESCO-IHE), Delft, Netherlands
- . Benedito BRAGA, Agencia Nacional de Aguas, Brazil
- . Mokhtar BZIOUI, Direction générale de l'hydraulique, Ministère de l'équipement, Morocco
- . Thomas F. CAVER, U.S. Army Corps of Engineering, U.S.A.
- . Bertrand CHARRIER<sup>\*</sup>, Green Cross International, Switzerland (July 3, 2004 April 2, 2005)
- . William J. COSGROVE, Ecoconsult Inc., Canada
- . René COULOMB, Suez, France
- . Victor DUKHOVNY, Scientific Information Centre Water Coordination Commission of Central Area, Uzbekistan
- . Mona EL-KADY, National Water Research Centre, Egypt
- . Loïc FAUCHON, Groupe des Eaux de Marseille, France
- . Jean-Claude GAUDIN, Ville de Marseille, France
- . Gourisankar GHOSH, Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC)
- . David GREY, World Bank
- . Atef HAMDY, CIHEAM-Bari (Instituto Agronomico Mediterraneo), Italy
- . Yumio ISHII, CTI Engineering Co. LTD, Japan
- . Hachmi KENNOU, Mediterranean Water Institute, France
- . Katumi MUSIAKE, Japan Water Resources Association, Japan
- . Riota NAKAMURA, Japanese Institute of Irrigation and Drainage, Japan
- . Hideaki ODA, Secretariat of the Third World Water Forum, Japan
- . John PIGRAM, International Water Resources Association (IWRA)
- . Leonor PINTADO CORTINA, National Water Commission, Mexico
- . Paul REITER, International Water Association
- . Pierre-Alain ROCHE, Agence de l'eau Seine-Normandie, France
- . Aly SHADY, Founding Member
- . Andras SZOLLOSI-NAGY, UNESCO
- . Kuniyoshi TAKEUCHI, International Association of Hydrological Sciences
- . Houria TAZI SADEQ, Alliance Maghreb Mashrek pour l'eau, Morocco
- . Pierre-Frédéric TENIERE-BUCHOT<sup>\*</sup>, Cercle Français de l'Eau, France (Oct. 3, 2003 July 2, 2004)

- . C.D. THATTE, International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage (ICID)
- . Avinash TYAGI, World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
- . Thijs VAN PRAAG, M&I Tokapi, Netherlands
- . Daniel ZIMMER, World Water Council, Ex-officio
- . Emilio GABBRIELLI, Global Water Partnership, Ex-officio

The five remaining seats will be filled in the coming months to co-opted members, chosen to provide the Board of Governors with more geographical, sectoral and gender balance.

Every three years, the Board of Governors elects a Bureau, composed of the President, Vice Presidents, the Treasurer, and the Chairmen of the Commission on Legal and Financial Affairs, of the Committee on Science and Technology and the Committee on Institutions and Governance. The responsibility of the Bureau is to prepare and carry out the decisions of the Board of Governors.

The term of office of the previous Bureau, chaired by Dr. Mahmoud Abu-Zeid, having come to an end, the Board of Governors in its meeting on October 2<sup>nd</sup> elected a new Bureau:

- President: William J. COSGROVE, Ecoconsult Inc., Canada
- Vice Presidents: Loïc FAUCHON, Groupe des eaux de Marseille, France; Benedito BRAGA, International Water Resources Association, Brazil
- Treasurer: Mokhtar BZIOUI, Direction générale de l'hydraulique, Ministère de l'équipement, Morocco
- President of the Commission on Legal and Financial Affairs: . Maarten BLOKLAND, UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education (UNESCO-IHE), Delft, Netherlands
- President of the Committee on Science and Technology: Paul REITER, International Water Association
- President of the Committee on Institutions and Governance: Jerome DELLI PRISCOLI, US Army Corps of Engineers, U.S.A.

The next Ordinary General Assembly of the World Water Council might be held in Spring 2005, in New York, to coincide with the meeting of the Commission on Sustainable Development of the United Nations. The reform of the electoral procedures approved at the 3<sup>rd</sup> General Assembly, aiming to promote democracy and transparency, will be implemented at this meeting.

\* \* \*

<u>Contact</u>: Ms Stéphanie Porro, Communication Officer Phone: + 33 (0) 4 91 99 41 00 s.porro@worldwatercouncil.org

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>\*</sup> Due to the fact that B. Charrier and P.F. Teniere-Buchot obtained the same voting results at the last election of the Board of Governors (October 2, 2003) they will be on the Board alternately.