Sitemap | FAQ | Partners  King Hassan Prize  Grand Prix mondial Hassan II pour l'eau  Kral II. Hassan Ödülü 
+ About the Forum
+ Thematic Process
+ Political Process
+ Regional Process
+ Major Groups
+ Preparatory Process
+ Forum Programme
+ Prizes
Turkish Prize
Kyoto Prize
King Hassan Prize
Compromiso Mexico
+ Green Forum Initiative
- Forum Evaluation
+ Media Corner
+ Library
+ Logistical Information
6th World Water Forum
Home Page  > + Prizes > King Hassan Prize

King Hassan II Great World Water Prize

The third edition of the King Hassan II Great World Water Prize was awarded during the opening ceremony of the 5th World Water Forum to Abdulatif Yousef Al-Hamad, Director General of the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development. The prize was awarded by Abdelkébir Zahoud, Morocco’s Secretary of State in charge of water and environment.

The King Hassan II Great World Water Prize is an international award jointly established by the Government of Morocco and the World Water Council, in memory of his Majesty King Hassan II of Morocco's distinguished leadership and encouragement of cooperation and sound management of water resources. The theme for the Prize is "Cooperation and solidarity in the fields of management and development in water resources."

The award was created in March 2000, with the aim of having a political tool at the disposal of both institutions to stimulate awareness and reflection. It is awarded to an institution, organization, individual or group of individuals in honour of outstanding achievements in any aspects of water resources such as scientific, economic, technical, environmental, social, institutional, cultural or political.

The award is presented every three years in conjunction with the World Water Forum, during a special ceremony. The award winner receives a prize sum of US$ 100,000, a trophy and a certificate.

 Past Winners are as follows:

  • 5th World Water Forum, Istanbul 2009: Abdulatif Yousef Al-Hamad (Director General of the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development)
  • 4th World Water Forum, Mexico City 2006: Torkil Jonch-Clausen (DHI Water and Environment, Denmark)
  • 3rd World Water Forum, Kyoto, Shiga and Osaka 2003: Mahmoud Abu-Zeid (Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation of Egypt) and Jerzon Kelman (Director President of Agencia Nacional de Aguas, Brazil).

    Click here to download the complete statutes.




King Hassan Prize 2009 - 3rd edition

Brochure (English)

Nomination form

Brochure (Français)

Bulletin de candidature

DHI Women's Water Fund

The 2006 King Hassan Prize Laureate uses his award to support women. Read More.


Melanie Giard
World Water Council
Secretariat of the Prize

Tel: +33 4 91 99 41 06
Fax: +33 4 91 99 41 01